Rural Rides

Rural Rides logo

Interested in volunteering your services for Rural Rides?

Call Martin Lepak 218-410-9755  email: martin.lepak@aeoa.org
53.5 cents per mile is now the reimbursement rate for AEOA volunteer drivers. Volunteer are needed to drive persons to medical appointments and to work. Must have a valid driver’s license, a dependable vehicle, insurance, a clean driving record and pass a background check.

Rural Rides is a work-related transportation program in Aitkin, Carlton, Cook, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, and St Louis Counties.

(Rural Rides is operated separately from Arrowhead Transit’s bus service)

If you live in one of these counties and need assistance with rides for work, training, or other job-related situations, a Rural Rides transportation advocate may be able to assist you with:

  • Bus tickets and passes
  • Information on bus routes and schedules
  • Temporary support for car pool or ride share expenses-Work Buddy
  • Temporary volunteer driver
  • Temporary cab vouchers
  • An innovative and personalized transportation plan
  • Budgeting for transportation
  • Identifying other community resources available to you

To learn more about Rural Rides, please contact the transportation advocate in your county:

Aitkin County Transportation Advocate – Luke Christensen
Aitkin Workforce Center
20 3rd Street NE
Aitkin, MN 56431
218-735-6124 Office
218-360-9896 Cell
luke.christensen.@aeoa.org

Carlton, Cook, & Lake Counties Transportation Advocate – Amy Ninteman
Cloquet Workforce Center
14 N 11th Street, Suite 140
Cloquet, MN 55720
218-878-5005 Cloquet Office
218-623-3037 Two Harbors Office
218-730-7717 Cell
amy.ninteman@aeoa.org

Itasca County Transportation Advocate – Diane Gilmore
Grand Rapids Workforce Center
1215 Southeast 2nd Avenue
Grand Rapids, MN 55744
218-327-6757 Office
diane.gilmore@aeoa.org

Koochiching County Transportation Advocate – Anitria Love
International Falls Workforce Center
1501 Hwy 71, Room SC128
International Falls, MN 56649
218-285-3654 Office
anitria.love@aeoa.org

 

East St. Louis County Transportation Advocate – Anna Palo
AEOA – Virginia Workforce Center
820 9th Street North
Virginia, MN 55792
218-735-6849 Office
anna.palo@aeoa.org

West St. Louis County Transportation Advocate – Randy Hokkanen
Hibbing Workforce Center
3920 13th Avenue East
Hibbing, MN 55746
218-262-7359
randy.hokkanen@aeoa.org